Developmental studies spanning from infancy to adulthood comprise the research portfolio of the CDS.  These studies share an emphasis on understanding the processes that underlie child development as it occurs across multiple levels of analysis both within the child (e.g., genetic, physiological, neurological, affective, cognitive and behavioral) as well as at the intersection of children and their surrounding contexts (e.g., peers, families, schools, cultures).  Over the last five years, research at the CDS has focused on applied outcomes in education, health, psychological adjustment, and risk behaviors as well as on understanding basic development processes such as family functioning, children’s memory development, and self-regulation in early childhood.

 

Below are active CDS-sponsored projects.  More information can be found by clicking on the following weblinks for some of these projects.  For those without weblinks, please contact PIs directly of the CDS for more information.

Principal Investigator(s)Project Title
Andrea Hussong; hussong@unc.edu
(1) Human Development: Interdisciplinary Research Training;

(2) Long-term Effects of Parents’ Efforts to Foster Children’s Gratitude on Health, Well-Being and Character Development;

(3) Peer Mechanisms in the Internalizing Pathway to Substance Use; Reconceptualizing the Parenting of Adolescents
Dan Bauer; dbauer@email.unc.edu
(1) Harmonizing substance use and disorder measures to facilitate multi-study analyses;

(2) Diversity Supplement: Harmonizing substance use and disorder measures to facilitate multi-study analyses
Peter Ornstein; pao@unc.edu

Jennifer Coffman; coffman@unc.edu
(1) Developing a Teacher-Based Intervention Involving Memory-Relevant Language during Instruction
Cathi Propper; propper@unc.edu
(1) Prenatal Cigarette Exposure: The Role of Sleep and Parenting for Infant Outcomes;

(2) Integrating respiratory sinus arrhythmia into the assessment of executive function in young children;

(3) Infant Sleep Development: Contributions of Infant Vagal Tone and Parenting
Nisha Gottfredson; gottfredson@unc.edu
(1) The Impact of Affect Regulatory Mechanisms and Binge Eating on Drug Recovery
Jill Hamm; jill.hamm@unc.edu
(1) Collaborative Research: PEARL: Peers Engaged As Resources for Learning;

(2) Supporting Early Adolescent Learning and Social Success across the Middle School Years: The SEALS II Intervention Development Program;

(3) Networks of Teachers Affect Children in Transition (NTACT);

(4) Supporting Early Adolescent Learning and Social Success (SEALS);

(5) Rural Early Adolescent Learning (REAL)

Sherick Hughes; shughes@email.unc.edu
(1) The Color of Emotion: How Teacher Bias and Misinterpreting Children's Emotion May Influence Student Outcomes